Reinventing Museums: Collaborate, Innovate & Transform

National Wool Museum, Geelong
18-19 April 2013

Museums Australia (Victoria) joined colleagues from across the sector at the National Wool Museum in Geelong in 2013 for the second State Conference for Victorian museums and galleries.

The theme of the conference was Reinventing Museums: Collaborate, Innovate & Transform and the program explored the brave new ideas and lessons learned in recent times of change and challenge in the sector. The two-day format combined traditional keynotes with hands-on practical sessions, a public lecture, an expo of industry suppliers, and examples of Geelong arts and cultural heritage.

Presentations from the "Reinventing Museums: Innovate" Keynote Session are now available online.


Optional events included a Welcome Reception on Wednesday 17 April at the Geelong Gallery and a Conference Dinner at the The Pier Geelong on Thursday 18 April with special guest presenters. Optional tours and a gathering of the Victorian Collections community took place on the afternoon of Friday 19 April.

Conference Presenters

We were pleased to have Warwick Hadfield, local Geelong personality and broadcaster on ABC Radio National, as our MC for the Conference.

The Conference featured over 30 speakers, including:

•    Rowena Ashley, Coal Creek Community Park & Museum
•    Yvonne Church, Cohuna Historical Society
•    Rhana Devenport, Govett Brewster Gallery, New Zealand
•    Sharron Dickman, Geelong Football Club Collection
•    Lauren Ellis, Museum Victoria
•    Tony Ellwood, National Gallery of Victoria
•    Padraic Fisher, National Wool Museum
•    Rebecca Forgasz, Jewish Museum of Australia
•    Martin Green, National Trust of Australia (Victoria)
•    Robert Heather, State Library of Victoria
•    Don Heron, National Gallery of Victoria
•    Eric Holowacz, formerly Mildura Arts Centre
•    Marina Larsson, Veterans Unit, DPCD
•    Michael McKernan, Consultant Historian
•    JD Mittmann, Burrinja Cultural Centre
•    Tom Mosby, Koorie Heritage Trust
•    Terry Norman, Victorian Jazz Archive
•    Gary Parker, Vietnam Veterans Museum
•    Kate Phillips, Museum Victoria
•    Karen Quinlan, Bendigo Art Gallery
•    Sue Roberts, State Library of Victoria
•    Tim Rolfe, Museum Victoria
•    Andrew Sayers, National Museum of Australia
•    Padmini Sebastian, Immigration Museum
•    Glenn Shea, The StoryTeller Educational Resource
•    Helen Sheedy, Flagstaff Hill Maritime Village
•    Michelle Stevenson, National Alpine Museum of Australia
•    Melinda Stewart, Surfworld
•    Kevin Tanner, Zoos Victoria
•    Robyn Till, Macedon Ranges Shire Council
•    Patrick Watt, Burke Museum
•    Chris Winter, formerly ABC Innovation Division

Conference Sponsors and Supporters

Museums Australia (Victoria) wishes to thank and acknowledge the following organisations for their sponsorship and support of the 2013 Conference:

Keynote Session Sponsor


Name badge & Notepad Sponsor


Conference Host


Bursary Sponsors

  • City of Greater Geelong
  • Macedon Ranges Shire Council
  • Nillumbik Shire Council
  • Shire of Yarra Ranges


> Back to main Conference page